The Power to Change the World At My Fingertips

3 minutes to tell a powerful story.

I don’t know about you, but I cried–sobbed like a child looking for a lost kitten. I brushed away the tears and thought about what this little video could do.  It provokes the question of what if…?

Smile at a Stranger

We never know the moments our lives will be seen by the world. The moment someone becomes a hero doesn’t announce itself. It comes in all shapes and sizes. Who knows what smile, kind word, or helping hand you give to a stranger will keep someone from committing suicide or give them confidence for a job interview or the courage to say, ‘I love you,’ to that special someone.

Nice picture, you might say, but this is a made up story. Sure, it’s fiction, but it reminds me of another video I watched a couple days ago.

This man never knew he changed the world of a 13-year-old boy by buying him a cookie. He did it because that’s who he was. So here’s my question for you.

Who are you?

I ask myself the same question. When no outside motivation presses me to be greater than myself, what will the little things in my life say about me? Without help, I doubt anything worth notice. In God I find the passion to love people. He sees the brokenness and points it out to my bleary heart so I can become his outstretched hand. Jesus is my role-model. Who I want to become more like

Jesus touched the lepers shame
He embraced the lost and lame

He reached the beggar’s hand
Defied death and took a stand

He carried the cross: a message from above
History’s most eloquent expression of love

Whether anything I do is noticed like the officer I want these words to define me,

“At the end of the day, I wanna hear people say
My heart looks like Your heart, my heart looks like Your heart
When the world looks at me, let them agree
That my heart looks like Your heart, my heart looks like Your heart”

(Your Heart by Chris Tomlin)

I don’t come in contact with a lot of strangers, but the power to change the world–the power of life and death–still lies within my fingertips. In little moments amid strangers hungry for friendship. In the moments I dare to write. So if you read this, I hope you leave a little more aware of your world. I hope you hear the heartbeat of God a little louder. Listen. Ask God. He will show you what you can do. Little changes you alone can choose to make.

It can be as simple as a prayer.

Even if you can’t talk to someone, it takes no risk or effort to reach out with a prayer. Is God only able to hear us when we pray aloud? Please, pray for people you meet, whether aloud or in your head. It’s a start and God listens.

You have an impact on those around you. One day, you might leave. Who will they remember you as?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment